🠈  About Phoenix Color  🠊

Phoenix is the capital and largest city in Arizona. The population of Phoenix proper was 1,445,632 in 2010. The metropolitan area, which includes most of Maricopa County and portions of surrounding counties, is considered to be over 4.2 million.

The area is often called the Valley of the Sun. It sits on the northern stretch of the Sonoran Desert.

Arizona became part of the United States after the Mexican/American war and Gadsen Purchase of 1853. Phoenix was founded in 1861. The early settlers built upon an irrigation system of the ancient Hohokam people, and named the town Phoenix as they were building on canals from an ancient lost civilization. Phoenix was incorporated in 1881.

Phoenix was named the capital of Arizona in 1912 due to its central location and quickly grew larger than Tucson as a result.

Prev ~ ~ Index ~ ~ Next